The Recycle Bin allows the user to see what items are scheduled for deletion and purging in the system.
When a user deletes an item it becomes hidden from all search results and collection views, and has a flag
portal_deleted with a timestamp of when it was requested for deletion. A worker thread will pick up the items for deletion after a configurable time.
You can configure how long after a user has asked for an item to be deleted before it’s purged from the system by settings the
portal.conf. It should be a integer in hours.
The default is 24 hours.